Tales From the Hilltop
An intelligent, yet Devil's Advocate view of the world

Episode Four: Hating on…well….’hate’

Fads are a funny thing, aren’t they?

It starts small, mostly as a joke, and then they balloon to something everyone just has to have or do or say to be seen as “cool” or “with it”. Sooner or later, they get uncontrollable, mostly to the point where the people who are actually still following it become blithering idiots, and it kinda makes you feel stupid for actually liking the damn concept previously.

I guess that’s where I stand with this thing called “hating”. It’s a fad, and unfortunately, the hate has gotten out of control….moreso about three years ago.

For those still living under rocks in the Himalayas’, allow me to elaborate on the entire concept of hating (or, at least, what I’ve seen from it). Normally, a person will present something to someone or a group. If it’s cool, normally everyone rolls with the thing or idea. However, we all know that not everyone has the same thought process, taste, or preference, right? So in all those compliments, there’s bound to be somebody who won’t like it. Once the voice their disapproval…a la! They are now branded a “hater”, and are now “hating” on that other person.

This has got to be one of the most asinine things I’ve seen in the last decade out of the general public…and that’s saying alot, especially with that “30 is the new 20” nonsense, and those faux-hawks that have resurfaced in recent years.

So, let me get this straight: because I don’t like your opinion or style, now I’m hating on you? Riiiiiiiiiiiight. Apparently, there are legions of people who’ve never heard this word before: dissension. Over the past year, you would believe how many times I actually had to give the definition of this word: strong disagreement; a contention or quarrel; discord. Honestly, I’ve almost given up on the subject.

What I would like to know is why does it seem like everyone strides for uniformity on everything? Does everyone have like the same style of jeans, or think that Kobe is the best basketball player on the planet, and if you don’t think so, you’re just a hater? That’s just insane. What happened to people actually having their own preferences on what they like and dislike? I guess that’s the thing about fads; they leave no room for alternatives and people become mindless zombies to them. I don’t know about you, but living in a world where everyone is everyone else’s “yes” men seems dull, to say the least.

Now, let’s clarify some things here.  There is a difference between not having a preference on something after having heard, seen or experience, and just flat out not knowing ANYTHING about the topic and denouncing it. Other than Satanism, I’m pretty sure you need to at least know something about whatever it is you’re going to hate before you do it. Never hearing an OJ Da Juiceman song and saying “he sucks” is just pure ignorance, plain and simple. (Regardless of how much he really does suck. If you haven’t heard him, consider yourself VERY lucky.)

However, the hate parade has rolled on, and common sense has been repeatedly stabbed to the heart over and over again. This can also lead to very dangerous thinking.  An example: in the months leading up to the 2008 presidential election, I found myself actually divided as to who to vote for, between John McCain and the now-President Barack Obama. When people asked me why I hadn’t just come to the forgone conclusion that “I’m voting for Obama because he’s black, and we need the black man in office” routine, I tried to explain that I wasn’t completely sold on his policies and ideas. Sure enough, that word followed me around, almost to the point where people thought I was a traitor to my own race.  (I ended up voting for Obama, but that’s not the point, here.) Hilarious, right? The black guy who was seen on CNN begging John McCain to go after Obama in the debates got death threatens for his point-of-view, not to mention the biggest “Uncle Tom” branding since Clearance Thomas. I thought he cooning, too, but there was absolutely no need for people to take it that far.

People, wake up. Life is about different ways of experience, different point-of-views, Different sexual preferences, etc. I may not buy what you’re selling, but that’s the beauty of it. I have that right to disagree. You have that right, too. I’m not telling people to just never be on one accord about anything, but this fad of hating has to be the worst cop-out I’ve ever heard. Get some individuality in you and get the mass thinking out. It’s destroys creativity.

And if you don’t like this episode, than it’s obvious: You’re just hating on me. So there. 

11/13/09

One Response to “Episode Four: Hating on…well….’hate’”

  1. i hate you mir. lol


Leave a Reply

